California Senate Bill 311 (Cogdill)

In 2006, more than 100 organizations sent letters of support for AB 2479 (Cogdill), in support of $2.5 million for Weed Management Areas. The effort was susccesful in restoring partial funding of $1.5 million to WMAs, after two years with no funds. In 2007, SB 311 (Cogdill) proposed to restore the additional $1 million. Thanks to the organizations listed below who sent letters of support. Unfortunately, as of May 31, 2007, the bill is “in suspense” in the Senate Appropriations Committee, meaning no action is underway.

List of organizations who supported full funding in 2006.

Text and status of SB 311.

Letters of Support Received:

Statewide Organizations

  • Audubon California
  • California Agricultural Commissioners & Sealers Association
  • California Cattlemen’s Association
  • California Council of Land Trusts
  • California Farm Bureau Federation
  • California Invasive Plant Council
  • California Society for Ecological Restoration
  • Regional Council of Rural Counties
  • Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation
  • Sierra Club California
  • Weed Research and Information Center, University of California

Local and Regional Organizations

  • Audubon Canyon Ranch (Glen Ellen)
  • Big Chico Creek Watershed Alliance
  • Big Sur Land Trust
  • Butte County Agricultural Commissioner’s Office
  • California Native Plant Society, Channel Islands Chapter
  • California Native Plant Society, East Bay Chapter
  • California Native Plant Society, Marin Chapter
  • California Native Plant Society, Santa Clara Valley Chapter
  • California Native Plant Society, Santa Cruz Chapter
  • Carpinteria Salt Marsh Friends
  • Contra Costa County Dept. of Agriculture
  • Contra Costa County Resource Conservation Distict
  • Elkhorn Slough Foundation (Watsonville)
  • Fort Bragg Fire Protection Authority
  • Friends of Bidwell Park (Chico)
  • Friends of Edgewood Natural Preserve (San Mateo)
  • Friends of Five Creeks (El Cerrito)
  • Laguna de Santa Rosa Foundation
  • Lake Tahoe Basin Invasive Weeds Coordinating Group
  • Lassen County Special Weed Action Team
  • Mariposa County Dept. of Agriculture & Weights and Measures
  • Mono County Board of Supervisors
  • Mojave Desert Resource Conserveation District
  • Nature’s Image, Inc. (Lake Forest)
  • Nature in the City (San Francisco)
  • Nevada County Resource Conservation District
  • Palos Verdes Peninsula Land Conservancy
  • San Bruno Mountain Watch
  • Santa Barbara County Agricultural Commissioner’s Office
  • Sonoma Ecology Center
  • Team Arundo del Norte (Sonoma)
  • The Land Trust for Santa Barbara County
  • Three Rivers Invasive Weeds Eradication Project
  • Tulare County Board of Supervisors
  • Tulare County Farm Bureau
  • Yolo County Resource Conservation District


  • Steve Bennet, Ventura County Supervisor
  • Kathy I. Long, Ventura County Supervisor
  • Tara Collins, botanist, Sierra foothill counties
  • Arnold Thompson, restoration volunteer, San Francisco
  • Scott Steinmaus, Associate Professor, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
  • Scott Quinnell, biologist, San Bernardino