California Assembly Bill 2479

Thanks to those who sent letters of support to help renew state funding for Weed Management Areas in California!

$1.5 million originally included in AB2479 for the state’s network of Weed Management Areas (WMAs) has been funded through the 2006-2007 budget signed by the Governor Schwarzenegger. Letters from the more than 100 organizations below made it happen!
Legislative leaders indicated the quantity of letters and the obvious breadth of support motivated them to make renewed funding for the program a priority.
Cal-IPC will work with stakeholders and CDFA on program implementation and continued funding.

Letters of Support Received

Statewide Organizations:

  • California Agricultural Commissioners and Sealers Association
  • California Association of Pest Control Advisers
  • California Association of Resource Conservation Districts
  • California Cattlemen’s Association
  • California Council of Land Trusts
  • California Farm Bureau Federation
  • California Forest Pest Council
  • California Invasive Plant Council
  • California Native Grasslands Association
  • California Native Plant Society (CNPS)
  • California Society for Ecological Restoration
  • Regional Council of Rural Counties
  • Sierra Club California
  • Trust for Public Land

Local and Regional Organizations:

  • Acterra (Palo Alto)
  • Agricultural Commissioner’s Office of Santa Barbara County
  • Alameda County Resource Conservation District
  • Alameda-Contra Costa Weed Management Area
  • Alpine County Board of Supervisors
  • Audubon Canyon Ranch (Stinson Beach)
  • Bay Area Open Space Council
  • Big Sur Land Trust
  • Butte County Resource Conservation District
  • Cache Creek Conservancy (Woodland)
  • Catalina Island Conservancy
  • Center for Natural Lands Management (Fallbrook)
  • CNPS Alta Peak Chapter (Tulare County)
  • CNPS Dorothy King Young Chapter (Mendocino)
  • CNPS El Dorado Chapter
  • CNPS Los Angeles/Santa Monica Mountains Chapter
  • CNPS Milo Baker Chapter (Sonoma County)
  • CNPS Monterey Bay Chapter
  • CNPS Mt. Lassen Chapter
  • CNPS Orange County Chapter
  • CNPS San Luis Obispo Chapter
  • CNPS Santa Clara Valley Chapter
  • CNPS Sierra Foothills Chapter
  • CNPS Yerba Buena Chapter
    (San Francisco)
  • Center for Land-Based Learning (Winters)
  • Channel Islands Restoration
  • Colusa County Department of Agriculture
  • Concerned Resource & Environmental Workers (The CREW) (Ojai)
  • Conservation Biology Institute (Encinitas)
  • Contra Costa Resource Conservation District
  • Cummings Valley Protective Association (Tehachapi)
  • East Bay Municipal Utility District
  • El Dorado Invasive Weed Management Group
  • Elsinore-Murrieta-Anza Resource Conservation District
    (Riverside County)
  • Farm Bureau of San Diego County
  • Fresno County Board of Supervisors
  • Friends of Bidwell Park (Chico)
  • Friends of Edgewood Natural Preserve (Redwood City)
  • Friends of Five Creeks (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties)
  • Friends of Switzer Canyon (San Diego)
  • Garrapata Creek Watershed Council (Monterey)
  • Glenn County Board of Supervisors
  • Glenn County Department of Agriculture
  • Glenn County Resource Conservation District
  • Golden Gate Audubon Society
  • Honey Lake Valley Resource Conservation District
  • Humboldt/Del Norte Weed Management Area
  • Inyo and Mono Counties Agricultural Department
  • Kern County Board of Supervisors
  • Kern County Department of Agriculture & Measurement
  • Kern Weed Management Area
  • Lake County Weed Management Area Partnership
  • Lake Tahoe Basin Weed Coordinating Group
  • Land Trust for Santa Barbara County
  • Lassen County Special Weed Action Team
  • Los Angeles & San Gabriel Rivers Watershed Council
  • Marin Conservation Corps
  • Mariposa County Board of Supervisors
  • Mariposa County Department of Agriculture
  • Mendocino Weed Management Area
  • Mendocino Coast Cooperative Weed Management Area
  • Merced County Board of Supervisors
  • Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District
  • Mission Resource Conservation District (Fallbrook)
  • Mojave Desert Resource Conservation District
  • Mojave Desert  Weed Management Area
  • Mojave Water Agency
  • Mountains Recreation & Conservation Authority (Malibu)
  • Mountains Restoration Trust (Santa Monica Mountains)
  • Napa County Board of Supervisors
  • Napa County Resource Conservation District
  • Nature in the City (San Francisco)
  • Ojai Valley Land Conservancy
  • Palos Verdes Peninsula Land Conservancy
  • Quail Ridge Wilderness Conservancy (Davis)
  • Regional Assn. of Northern Counties Agricultural Commissioners and Sealers (Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Plumas/Sierra, Shasta, Sisiyou, Tehama and Trinity Counties)
  • Sacramento River Watershed Program
  • San Benito County Agricultural Department
  • San Bruno Mountain Watch
  • San Diego County Department of Agriculture, Weights & Measures
  • San Joaquin County Board of Supervisors
  • San Mateo County Board of Supervisors
  • SPAWNERS – San Pablo Watershed Neighbors Education & Restoration Society (Contra Costa County) 
  • Santa Barbara Audubon Society
  • Santa Barbara Botanic Garden
  • Santa Barbara County – Agricultural Commissioner’s Office
  • Santa Clara County Parks and Recreation Department
  • San Luis Obispo Department of Agriculture and Measurement
  • Santa Lucia Conservancy (Carmel)
  • Santa Margarita/San Luis Rey Weed Management Area
  • Shasta County Department of Agriculture, Weights & Measures
  • Shasta County Weed Management Area
  • Sierra-Cascade Land Trust Council
  • Sierra Club – Santa Lucia Chapter
  • Siskiyou County Board of Supervisors
  • Solano County Weed Management Area
  • Solano Land Trust
  • Solano Resource Conservation District
  • Sonoma Land Trust
  • Southern Low Desert Resource Conservation & Development Council
  • Surfrider Foundation, Ventura County Chapter
  • Sutter County Board of Supervisors
  • Tehachapi Resource Conservation District
  • Tehama County Resource Conservation District
  • Thirty-Second Street Canyon Task Force (San Diego)
  • Trinity Resource Conservation and Development Council Inc.
  • Tulare County Board of Supervisors
  • Tuolumne County Board of Supervisors
  • Upper Salinas-Las Tablas Resource Conservation District
  • Ventura County Resource Conservation District
  • Yolo County Resource Conservation District

Related Links and Documents

WMA background information

AB 2479 information from the California Legislature

CDFA Weed Management Area homepage

Official California State Legislature information