

March 13, 2019

The Honorable Richard Bloom, Chair Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 3 State Capitol, Room 2003 Sacramento, CA 95814

The Honorable Bob Wieckowski, Chair Senate Budget Subcommittee No. 2 State Capitol, Room 4085 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: CDFA California Biodiversity Initiative BCP for WMA funding - SUPPORT

Chairs Bloom and Wieckowski,

We, the undersigned organizations, write to express our strong support for the California Department of Food and Agriculture's California Biodiversity Initiative BCP request that \$3 million be included in the state budget to accelerate and streamline the prevention, detection and management of invasive plant species.

This funding supports CDFA's "Weed Management Area" program, enabling CDFA to partner with local organizations across the state to address the spread of invasive plants. Invasive plants are recognized in Governor Brown's Biodiversity Initiative and the state's Wildlife Action Plan as having a significant impact on native biodiversity. Actively addressing invasive plants not only protects biodiversity, it also promotes fire safety and protects water resources, agriculture, and recreation.

Given the recognized impacts of invasive plants on the state's biodiversity, this \$3 million investment is essential to implementing the new Biodiversity Initiative successfully. We respectfully ask for your support in protecting our environment, our economy and our safety by approving this funding as part of the 2019-20 budget.

Sincerely,

Doug Johnson, Executive Director California Invasive Plant Council www.cal-ipc.org

Jay Ziegler, Director of External Affairs and Policy, California **The Nature Conservancy** <u>https://www.nature.org/en-us/</u>

Kim Delfino, California Program Director **Defenders of Wildlife** <u>www.defenders.org/</u>

Sandy Elles, Executive Director California Agricultural Commissioners & Sealers Association www.cacasa.org

Bob Rynearson, Chair California Forest Pest Council www.caforestpestcouncil.org

J. Stacey Sullivan, Policy Director Sustainable Conservation www.suscon.org

Greg Suba, Conservation Program Director California Native Plant Society www.cnps.org

Greg Andrew, President **California Society for Ecological Restoration** <u>www.sercal.org</u> Andrea Williams, President California Native Grasslands Association www.cnga.org

Ana Ruiz, General Manager **Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District** (Santa Clara and San Mateo Counties) <u>www.openspace.org</u>

Walter T. Moore, President Peninsula Open Space Trust www.openspacetrust.org

Andrea Mackenzie, General Manager Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority www.openspaceauthority.org

Sharon Farrell, Executive Vice President of Projects, Stewardship & Science **Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy** <u>www.parksconservancy.org</u>

Janet Cobb, Executive Director California Wildlife Foundation www.californiaoaks.org

Ben Horenstein, General Manager Marin Municipal Water District www.marinwater.org

Paul Robins, Executive Director Resource Conservation District of Monterey County www.rcdmonterey.org

Jo Ellen Butler, Executive Director **Friends of the Fiscalini Ranch Preserve** (San Luis Obispo County) <u>www.ffrpcambria.org</u>

Jeff Miller, Director Alameda Creek Alliance (Alameda County) www.alamedacreek.org

Peter C. Ingram, President Friends of Edgewood (San Mateo County) www.friendsofedgewood.org

Dr. Richard Haskell, Board Chair

Sustainable Claremont (Los Angeles County) <u>www.sustainableclaremont.org</u>

Elihu Gevirtz, Senior Ecologist & Operations Manager **Channel Island Restoration** (Santa Barbara County) www.cirweb.org

Susan Schwartz, President **Friends of Five Creeks** (Contra Costa/Alameda Counties) <u>www.f5creeks.org</u>

Tim Gibson, Agricultural Commissioner Sealer Weights & Measures **Plumas-Sierra Counties Department of Agriculture** <u>www.countyofplumas.com</u>

Tanya Chapple, Plants Program Director Mid Klamath Watershed Council www.mkwc.org

Anna Marie Schmidt, Executive Director Friends of Sausal Creek (Alameda County) www.sausalcreek.org

Dashiell Dunkell, Stewardship Director Elkhorn Slough Foundation (Monterey County) www.elkhornslough.org

Snowdy Dodson, Chapter Co-President Los Angeles/Santa Monica Mountains Chapter of the Cal. Native Plant Society www.lasmmcnps.org

Kitty Connolly, Executive Director **Theodore Payne Foundation for Wild Flowers & Native Plants** (Los Angeles County) <u>www.theodorepayne.org</u>

Steven Goetz, President Willis Linn Jepson Chapter of the California Native Plant Society (Solano County) www.jepson.cnps.org

Cherie Topper, Executive Director Santa Barbara Audubon Society www.santabarbaraaudubon.org

Nancy Hamlett, Treasurer Friends of Claremont Hills Wilderness Park (Los Angeles County) www.friendsofthewildernesspark.org

Matt Freitas, Program Manager **Truckee River Watershed Council** <u>www.truckeeriverwc.org</u>

Karuna Greenberg, Restoration Director Salmon River Restoration Council www.srrc.org

Michael Gillogly, Preserve Manager Pepperwood Foundation www.pepperwoodpreserve.org

Lucas Patzek, Executive Director Napa County Resource Conservation District www.naparcd.org

Bobbi Simpson, Liaison National Park Service, California Exotic Plant Management Team www.nps.gov/orgs/1103/epmt.htm

Celia Kutcher, Conservation Chair Orange County Chapter of the California Native Plant Society www.occnps.org

Hallie Jones, Executive Director Laguna Canyon Foundation www.lagunacanyon.org

 cc: The Honorable Members of the Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 3 The Honorable Members of the Senate Budget Subcommittee No. 2
The Honorable Members of the Assembly Budget Committee
The Honorable Members of the Senate Budget Committee
The Honorable Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon
The Honorable Speaker Pro Tempore Toni Atkins