Take Action!

Support AB 2470 and the budget request for WMA funding!

Board at Capitol

Cal-IPC Board of Directors at the Capitol advocating for AB 2470 in February!

Cal-IPC is co-sponsoring Assembly Bill 2470 in the California Legislature, authored by Assembly Member Tim Grayson (District 14 – Concord). The bill formalizes the state’s interagency Invasive Species Council of California (ISCC). Funding for the council — and for the state’s network of Weed Management Areas (WMAs) — is being requested by Assembly Member Grayson’s office though a separate “budget request” letter. Now is the time to show support for the funding request!

If you agree that state funding for local and state coordination on invasive species is a vital investment in the long-term protection of California’s water resources, fire safety, climate resiliency, agriculture and environment, please take action now. The easy wayis to send us your group’s logo and signature to be a part of our sign-on letter supporting the budget request. If you have more time (or your organization cannot join a sign-on letter) you can also send a support letter to your state representatives asking them to sign onto Assembly Member Grayson’s budget request.

Instructions for supporting the WMA budget request!

Current status: Assembly Member Grayson is continuing to gather other co-signers from the legislature on his budget request, which includes $2.5M for WMAs, $5M for the interagency ISCC and its advisory committee CISAC (both of which would be codified by AB 2470), and $2M for UC Dept. of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Join the great list below of groups that have supported to date. Thank you!

Association of Professional Landscape Designers, California Chapter
Big Sur Land Trust
Bolsa Chica Land Trust (Huntington Beach)
Broom Busters (Tiburon)
Butte County Dept. of Agriculture
Cache Creek Conservancy (Woodland)
Calaveras County Dept. of Agriculture
California Association of Resource Conservation Districts
California Forest Pest Council
California Native Grasslands Association
California Native Plant Society
California Urban Forests Council
California Wildlife Foundation/California Oaks
Channel Islands Restoration
City of Arcata
City of Santa Cruz
Coal Oil Point Reserve (Goleta)
Conejo Open Space Conservation Agency (Thousand Oakes)
Conejo Open Space Foundation (Thousand Oaks)
County of Marin
County of Placer
County of San Luis Obispo Dept. of Agriculture
Creekside Center for Earth Observation (Menlo Park)
Defenders of Wildlife
Del Norte County Farm Bureau
Ecological Concerns Incorporated (Santa Cruz)
El Dorado Chapter, California Native Plant Society
Endangered Habitats League (Los Angeles)
Forest Ranch Fire Safe Council
FormLA Landscaping, Inc.
Friends of Alhambra Creek (Martinez)
Friends of Aquatic Park (Berkeley)
Friends of Corte Madera Creek Watershed
Friends of Edgewood (San Mateo)
Friends of Five Creeks (El Cerrito)
Friends of the Creeks (Walnut Creek)
Friends of the Creeks (Walnut Creek)
Friends of the Desert Mountains (Palm Desert)
Friends of the Fiscalini Ranch Preserve (Cambria)
Golden Hour Restoration Institute (Berkeley)
Humboldt County Weed Management Area
Humboldt Weed Management Area
Land Conservancy of San Luis Obispo County
Lassen Special Weed Action Team
Los Angeles/Santa Monica Mountains Chapter, California Native Plant Society
Los Angeles/Santa Monica Mountains Chapter, California Native Plant Society
Lost Coast Interpretative Association
Marin Audubon Society
Marin Baylands Advocates
Marin Chapter, California Native Plant Society
Marin Conservation League
Marin County Dept. of Agriculture
Meadows Fire Safe Council (Pasadena)
Mid Klamath Watershed Council
Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District (Los Altos)
Mojave Desert Resource Conservation District
Mountain Recreation & Conservation Authority (Los Angeles)
North Topanga Fire Safe Council
Palos Verdes Peninsula Land Conservancy
Plumas-Sierra Counties Dept. of Agriculture
Putah Creek Council (Winters)
Resource Conservation District of Santa Cruz County
San Diego Weed Management Area
San Luis Obispo Chapter, California Native Plant Society
San Mateo County Weed Management Area
Santa Barbara Botanic Garden
Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority
Santa Lucia Consrcancy
Society of American Foresters, Bay Area Chapter
Sustainable Conservation (San Francisco)
Tejon Ranch Conservancy (Frazier Park)
The Nature Conservancy
Theodore Payne Foundation (Tujunga)
Truckee River Watershed Council
Upper Salinas-Las Tablas Resource Conservation District
US Green Building Council – Los Angeles
Ventura Audubon Society
Walnut Creek Open Space Foundation
Washoe Tribe, Environmental Protection Dept. (Gardnerville, NV)
Willis Lynn Jepson Chapter, California Native Plant Society (Solano County)
Yerba Buena Chapter, California Native Plant Society (San Francisco)
Yolo County Resource Conservation District
Yolo Habitat Conservancy (Woodland)